Not yet there
There are features I expect out of the box but didnt see:
1. I expect that members should only be able to see the cards they are added to but I found that any member can see any card. This is will be a deal breaker for me, if not corrected before the refund window.
2. Members do not get email notification when you add them to a card, they only do when you tag them. What then is the essence of adding members to a card?
3. Email notifications still carry the footer of "open source alternative to Trello", even though I'm not using the open source version.
4. I found that members can create workspace by default. Permission to turn this off is not included in the permission setting.
5. There's no setting to allow members to only be able to delete their own card, list, or comment. They can delete any one, including those created by others. I would like to see a setting that allows members to be able to delete only their own data, not the one created by others. Only admins should be able to delete data created by others.
6. I'll like to see TODO view/list so that each can see the tasks assigned to him/her in order of due date. That should be the default view for all members once they open the app. If this is done, there will be no need for notifications.
Kindly let us know if these features will be implemented and their ETA.
hgball
Jul 21, 2026Hey donbee,
Appreciate the honest feedback!
1. Currently all members of a workspace can view all cards, but this will change when we launch board invitations: https://kan.bn/kan/roadmap/hq02f64vibvu. We don't currently have a permission for only allowing members to see the cards they're assigned to, but I can see that being useful.
2. Users should receive an email when being added to a card by default, but we also need a way for them to opt out first - I'll prioritise adding notifications settings and let you know when we have more to share.
3. Kan Cloud is still open source!
4. Great catch, I will make sure this is added to the available permissions.
5. Yes, you can configure this on https://kan.bn/settings/permissions, or for individual members on https://kan.bn/members - all members regardless of permission can delete their own data.
6. We've had a few requests for this so it's been added to the roadmap. You can keep track of progress here: https://kan.bn/kan/39nfaqaj289o.
Feel free to reach out to me directly at [email protected] if you have any other questions - happy to help!